This is the product title

In Stock Condition: Excellent
Dimensions: Hardcover
Published by: Irwell Press
Author: Ian Sixsmith

The Book of the Black 5s - LMS Class Five 4-6-0s

Part 3 Nos 45225 - 45471

After a short pause to gather breath following Parts 1 and 2 covering the �Mark 1� Black 5s it was time to embark on this, Part 3, which deals primarily with what came to be the largest batch of ostensibly identical locomotives to run on the LMS. These �Mark 2� Armstrong Whitworth locomotives may have started life all the same but there will be sufficient for the engine picker to work with, and the final twenty pre-war engines also covered in this volume introduce plenty of subtle differences. The books are arranged in the approximate chronological sequence in which the locomotives were introduced, with an added twist that particularly in matters such as boilers and tenders there is a certain amount of back and forward cross-referral. In the spirit of ensuring that if you buy one book you will surely need the others to complete the set then some details are covered in more depth in the earlier books and only summarised in the later parts.


Please contact us for a quote for shipping outside the UK Mainland before ordering.